The House on Hummingbird Island

Author: Sam Angus
Category:
Age group:
Publisher:
Macmillan
Type of book: Fiction
Available Languages: English
Available Formats: Braille, Giant Print, Hardcover, Paperback, Talking Book

We're going to a fine place,' Idie told Homer to console him, 'with gullies and monkeys and hummingbirds.' Idie Grace is twelve when she inherits a grand old house on a Caribbean island, and is sent away from grey old England to a place where hummingbirds hover and monkeys clamber from tree to tree. As a lady of property Idie can do as she pleases, so she fills the house with exotic animals, keeps her beloved horse in the hallway, and carries a grumpy, talking cockatoo called Homer on her shoulder. But the island house holds as many secrets as it does animals, and the truth behind Idie's inheritance is the biggest secret of all ...Perfect for fans of Eva Ibbotson and Katherine Rundell

Rate it:

No votes yet

Average rating:

You may also like

When the Rains Come

Author: Tom Pow
Category:
Age group:

The Prince Who Walked With Lions

Author: Elizabeth Laird
Category:
Age group: